DIY Glittered Found Feather Art

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.comSooooooo, I’m a feather hoarder. I suppose this may be a side effect of chicken keeping. Every morning when I go to let the girls out, I collect whatever good-looking feathers I find sitting on the ground. When it’s molt season, good lawd, I come out of the chicken garden with a ton of feathers. And if you’re wondering where those smart little red feathers came from? I also collect the feathers that my African Grey, Nixie, drops from her saucy red tail. Yes, it has come to this.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

Oh, the feathers that come off those fluffy butts.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

Nix says: Whaddup. No seriously. She says that. She won’t shut up.

Framing feathers is nothing new, let’s be honest. But the chickens are forcing my hand. Look at all these suckers!

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

So many feathers, so little time.

So, unholster your glitter and let the crafting commence!

I found this great ‘Norrlida‘ frame at Ikea and knew immediately when I saw it that it was the one. It’s an interesting size and shape (approx. 12″ x 28.5″), and comes with a beautiful matte insert that is white on one side, black on the other. Outstanding for framing up a collection.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

 

I then assembled my troops across a sheet of wax paper.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

Four of each color feather, and a fine assortment of color-coordinating glitters.

To adhere the glitter, I decided to use metal leaf adhesive (the kind you use for adhering gold leaf, like this), because it is a very watery glue that you apply with a brush and then let dry completely before applying your glitter (or metal leaf, if that’s your bag, baby). It becomes tacky when it’s dry. I like tacky. Using a heavier wet-applied glue, such as Modge-Podge would probably also work, but the thicker the adhesive, the more likely it’s gonna manipulate the feather out of it’s natural feather shape as you apply it. No bueno. If using Modge-Podge or Elmer’s Glue or something like that, I’d water it down a bit so it flows a little easier.

Carefully paint the top quarter to third of your feather with the adhesive:

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

It doesn’t have to be perfect, just some version of a straight line. The glitter will blur the line a bit anyway.

If you’ve applied your adhesive and the feather went a little wonky, I’ve got a trick to fix it. Take a piece of clear Scotch tape and apply it to the back of the feather, then trim around the shape of the feather as you’d like it to be.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

There is nothing more frustrating than a wonky feather.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

Once you’ve applied your glitter, there is not a single trace of wonkiness. Magic.

Once you’ve applied your glitter, make sure to give those feathers the good ol’ tap and shake and get off all the excess glitter. Use a small, clean, dry paintbrush to dust away any errant glitter along the ‘glitter line’ to make the line as tidy as possible.

At this point, I prefer to give my glittered feathers a light spray of clear coat to keep the glitter in place. You don’t have to do this. The clear coat keeps the glitter in place, but it also slightly dumbs down the sparkle. But if you don’t clear coat, you may find that the glitter will shed a bit inside your frame. You kind of have to pick your poison.

Once everything is glittered, and coated, and dry, arrange your feathers as you want them on the matte and warm up your glue gun. Attach each with a small dot of glue applied to the backside of the feather shaft and then push the feather flat against the board as it dries to flatten it out.

Reassemble your frame and find yourself somewhere pretty to hang it.

DIY Glittered Found Feather Art from Farmhouse38.com

Glittery, feathery goodness.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “DIY Glittered Found Feather Art

  1. Chris Thompson August 28, 2014 at 3:54 pm Reply

    I love this! I have a whole vase full of feathers and a bunch of glitter…which my family also calls “Satan Sprinkles” because when I use glitter, EVERYONE ends up with it on them somehow!

  2. Charlotte Zweigoron August 30, 2014 at 1:52 am Reply

    I would like to see this in place in your house. I am missing pictures inside your house. No chickens sneaking through the living room these days? No couch filled with dog? Pretty cute, BTW!!

  3. Maureen August 30, 2014 at 4:11 am Reply

    I’m all over this one! Love the idea of the gold leaf adhesive. Pinning.

  4. Shannon August 30, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

    I banned glitter (Satan’s Sprinkles, for sure) a decade or more ago from my house. Perhaps it will come back in another decade? Such a great and fun way to manage pretty things like feathers. Have you heard of Chris Maynard? He takes feather art to a whole freaky nuther level. Look him up.

  5. home, garden, life August 31, 2014 at 11:26 am Reply

    Clever, clever.
    I too hoard feathers from the wild birds I feed. And rocks. Nice idea for a winter project. At least the rocks can find instant homes within my gardens. The feathers were backing up until I saw this post…onward!
    Adore the girls’ butt pose…Happy Labor Day!

  6. Katja | Shift Ctrl Art September 2, 2014 at 11:29 pm Reply

    Love this! This is so pretty. Feather + glitter = pure happines!!

  7. carrie September 6, 2014 at 4:05 pm Reply

    If you don’t already have an etsy shop you should open one and sell these. I would buy one! I don’t have access to those beautiful feathers in my yard!

    • farmhouseK8 September 6, 2014 at 9:24 pm Reply

      Oh, thanks, Carrie! Never thought about that…I’m in the process of opening an Etsy store, so maybe I’ll add these sorts of things. Thanks for the suggestion!! 😀

  8. Sophie September 21, 2014 at 8:10 am Reply

    This makes me wanting to have chicken, too!

Leave a Reply

