Accidental Bah-Humbuggery

Phoebe and the tree at Farmhouse38.com

 

I didn’t mean to not do Christmas this year. But it’s the 22nd. Christmas has officially gotten away from me. *Cue that sorta sad Peanuts Christmas song here*

We did put lights on the house. We did put up the tree. The tree also has lights on it. Huzzah! It’s the little things.

But everything else (Christmas cards *gasp*, holiday crafts, holiday baking) has fallen by the wayside as I work hard on some administrative odds and ends at good ol’ Farmhouse38. New things for the new year, people! But administrative stuff has a way of spongeing up one’s extra Christmas juices.

I did manage to get a shot of Phoebe in front of the tree again, just so that we can all look back and remember what an adorable nugget she was this time last year. It’s so funny to me how in both shots she has her tail tucked under her and it looks like she has a normal boxer nub. Trust me, it’s there, in all it’s shin-whipping glory. But I digress.

I love Christmas. I really do. And I’ve been feeling pretty sheepish about not being the blogger who put the Christmas decorations up in September to photograph (seriously! this is a freakish super-human power that I do not possess). And then even more sheepish when it appears that I’m not even that blogger who gets them up in December. Meh.

Whutteryagonna do.Β I, for one, am gonna eat some candy, drink some bourbon-laced nog, and put my feet up by the fire with my awkward lap dogs draped over me and snoring. I’ll watch my nephews open presents while my parrot chants her new favorite word in the background (“Weird! Weird! WEIRD!”)(she’s doing it right now as I type). I’ll get a little buzzed and envision all the bloggy Christmas magic I will perform next year. And forget it all by February.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Accidental Bah-Humbuggery

  1. Tina December 22, 2014 at 5:21 pm Reply

    I did the same thing. I only put my tree up last night!

  2. Kathi December 22, 2014 at 6:26 pm Reply

    Awww, what a cutie! As long as you and yours are happy and health the rest doesn’t matter. Merry Christmas and Happy New year πŸ™‚

    • farmhouseK8 December 23, 2014 at 1:40 am Reply

      I so agree, Kathi! Merry Everything to you, too!

  3. Cate December 23, 2014 at 2:59 am Reply

    Okay. We didn’t even put up a tree this year. We did decorate the porch…..um,yesterday – ha! No kids at home and no one coming over. Gifts are minimal, too. I’m LOVING it!!

  4. Karen Maloney December 23, 2014 at 1:55 pm Reply

    Boy do I feel better….I’m normally a decorate the entire house person….even themed trees in both bathrooms! Lots of work stress this year kinda killed my holiday spirit for the first time EVER in my 56 years of life! Got some of it back….living room decorated, finishing huge tree today….zillions of ornaments. Gifts bought, packages wrapped…..cooking tomorrow for Christmas Day at work :-(. Even at my age, still working on being perfectly imperfect and learning to let go a little. Sending all of you wishes for Christmas Blessings and every happiness in the New Year ❀

    • farmhouseK8 December 23, 2014 at 4:32 pm Reply

      I’m really hard on myself about it!!! I gotta ease up. Sounds like you pulled it all together in the St. Nick of time. (Groan…why did I have to go there?!) Well done!!! Thanks, Karen–same to you and yours!!!

  5. Carrie December 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Cute pic. I wish I could get my pups to gaze at the tree like that! Have a wonderful Christmas!

    • farmhouseK8 December 23, 2014 at 7:42 pm Reply

      Thanks, Carrie–you, too!!! (and btw…it’s not easy to get them to look at the tree…700 photos later I get one).

  6. Katja | Shift Ctrl Art December 23, 2014 at 5:34 pm Reply

    I love your tree. I have been late in getting mine up. It’s up, but only a few ornaments on it this year. Feeling sorta behind here too πŸ™‚ Oh well…. It’s all about the food anyway, right πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas Kate!

    • farmhouseK8 December 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm Reply

      Thanks, Katja–there are ZERO ornaments on my tree–lol! Didn’t put any up last year, either, as you can see. But hey, at least there’s a tree!!! I agree about the food! Merry Christmas and holiday hugs to you guys, too!

  7. Mandy December 23, 2014 at 6:14 pm Reply

    Those pictures are so cute!!

    We had intentions of baking a lot here this year and it got aways from us. We did slow cooker candy and m&m cookies and that’s it. I’m ok with that though. Our house is lit up and our tree looks lovely. I don’t know how people manage to do so much. I bow to them.

    Merry Christmas!!

    • farmhouseK8 December 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm Reply

      Oh, you guys done good, Mandy! Merry Christmas to you, too!!!

  8. Charlotte Zweigoron December 24, 2014 at 3:44 pm Reply

    We got the tree up the day before Thanksgiving… half the ornaments are still in Box #1. Box #2 and Box #3 are still on the shelf in the garage with all the little decorations I usually put on the dining table and all around the house (sad). I did decide not to do the family gift exchange and opted instead for a gift for each individual… all wrapped and ready for the big party at my daughter’s house. Shopping for everyone was the most fun I’ve had in years!!

  9. home, garden, life December 28, 2014 at 4:48 pm Reply

    Relax and feel the glow of many 2014 accomplishments…huge projects beautifully executed with grace and humor! Not to forget the splendid growing of Phoebe…Farmhouse 38 is a mecca. Thanks for sharing your good works Kate and Tex. Diane

    • farmhouseK8 December 28, 2014 at 6:33 pm Reply

      πŸ˜€ Thanks for following along, Diane! πŸ˜€

  10. Michelle Holmes February 5, 2015 at 5:41 am Reply

    One of the sweetest pictures I’ve seen πŸ™‚

  11. Shelia Hammack February 11, 2015 at 5:28 am Reply

    Love all the things you have done to your farmhouse! Would you share the color of your family room? Thanks. Shelia

    • farmhouseK8 February 17, 2015 at 1:01 am Reply

      Hi Sheila–it is (was, because I have actually changed it but not posted new photos yet), Behr’s Antique Leather.

Leave a Reply

